Simons Lecture Series

2007 Lectures

Terry Tao Department of Mathematics, UCLA

April 4-6


The dichotomy between structure and randomness

  • Lecture 1:

    Structure and randomness in Fourier analysis and number theory

  • Lecture 2:

    Structure and randomness in ergodic theory and graph theory

  • Lecture 3:

    Structure and randomness in PDE

Davis Dohoho Department of Statistics, Stanford University

April 9-11


  • Lecture 1:

    Sparsity in statistics and signal processing

  • Lecture 2:

    Neighborly polytopes and the L1-norm

  • Lecture 3:

    Spin glasses and sparse modelling

Simons Lecture Poster 2007
Simons Lecture Poster 2007

Simons Lectures Over the Years

2024: Elon Lindenstrauss, Lenka Zdeborova

2022: Bhargav Bhatt, Cynthia Dwork

2020: (postponed) Bhargav Bhatt, Cynthia Dwork

2019: June Huh, Alexander Barvinok

2018: Stephen Boyd, Sylvia Serfaty

2017: Yuval Peres, Martin Hairer

2016: Michael P. Brenner, Maryam Mirzakhani (cancelled due to illness)

2015: Leslie Greengard, Laure Saint-Raymond

2014: Daniel Spielman, Ben Green

2013: Emmanuel Candès, Raphaël Rouquier

2012: Alexander Lubotzky, László Lovász

2011: Steven Strogatz, Manjul Bhargava

2010: Peter Winkler, Andrei Okounkov

2009: Étienne Ghys, Robert Shapire

2008: Peter Teichner, John Conway

2007: Terry Tao, David Donoho

2006: Akshay Venkatesh, Yves Couder

2005: Noga Alon, Nigel Hitchin

2004: Wendelin Werner

2003: Grigory Perelman

2002: Robert MacPherson

2001 Fall: Peter Shor

2001 Spring: Laurent Lafforgue