Latest News

Four Graduate Students Receive Lusztig and Bershadsky PRIMES Mentorships

Peter Haine Chun Hong Lo Adela (Yiyu) Zhang Andrey Khesin

From Left: Peter Haine, Chun Hong Lo, Adela (Yiyu) Zhang, and Andrey Khesin

Four graduate students received the 2021 named PRIMES mentorships for exceptional mentor service.

Three received the 2021 George Lusztig Mentorships. Peter Haine is a DRP and MathROOTS mentor, and a PRIMES Circle program coordinator since 2018. Chun Hong Lo, who is a PRIMES, RSI, UROP+ and SPUR mentor, saw three PRIMES mentees become 2019 Yau Science Award USA semifinalists. Adela (YiYu) Zhang is a PRIMES, RSI, UROP+, MathROOTS, and PRIMES Circle mentor.

The new Bershadsky Mentor Award, courtesy of Michael and Victoria Bershadsky, goes to Andrey Khesin, a PRIMES mentor and MathROOTS program director.

Congratulations Peter, Chun, Adela, and Andrey, and thank you Professor Lusztig, and Michael and Victoria Bershadsky for making these mentorships possible!

Andrew Sutherland Is Named 2021 AMS Fellow

Andrew Sutherland

Andrew Sutherland was among 46 mathematical scientists selected for the 2021 Class of American Mathematical Society Fellows.

He was recognized for contributions to number theory, both on the theoretical and computational aspects of the subject.

Congratulations Drew!

Ashwin Sah and Mehtaab Sawhney Receive 2021 Morgan Prize

Ashwin Sah Mehtaab Sawhney

Graduate students Ashwin Sah and Mehtaab Sawhney will receive the 2021 AMS-MAA-SIAM Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student, for their work as MIT undergraduates. Previously, they received Honorable Mention for the Morgan Prize for their joint work with David Stoner. The award recognizes their innovative results across a broad range of topics in combinatorics, discrete geometry, and probability.

Congratulations Ashwin and Mehtaab!

Lisa Piccirillo Awarded 2021 Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontiers Prize in Mathematics

Lisa Piccirillo

Assistant Professor Lisa Piccirillo was selected for an inaugural 2021 Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontiers Prize, created in 2019 by the Breakthrough Foundation to recognize outstanding early-career women in mathematics. Lisa is cited for “resolving the classic problem that the Conway knot is not smoothly slice.” She was also recently named one of this year's WIRED25 for "People Who Are Making Things Better."

“I can’t wait to see what comes next from these brilliant young women,” said School of Science Dean Nergis Mavalvala, congratulating Lisa Piccirillo, fellow New Frontiers prizewinner and 2018 Math PhD alum Nina Holden, and two women faculty physicists, each selected for the Breakthrough's New Horizons Prize in Physics.

Congratulations Lisa!

Read more in the MIT News.

COVID-19 Update

The Math Department’s top priority is to help everyone through this unpredictable time by being flexible and understanding about the difficulties presented by the COVID-19 situation. In an effort to ease the transition to fully remote learning, please visit the newly developed help pages for online teaching:

For information on MIT's response to COVID-19 including campus access, policies, and updates, please see the MIT COVID-19 Updates

Seminars and Events