Seminar on Topics in Arithmetic, Geometry, Etc.

STAGE is a seminar in algebraic geometry and number theory, featuring speakers talking about work that is not their own. Talks will be at a level suitable for graduate students. Everyone is welcome.
Meetings are held on Fridays, 5-7pm in MIT room 2-131, unless indicated otherwise below. Talks will generally run only 90 minutes, however.
To receive announcements by email, add yourself to the STAGE mailing list.
If you are interested in giving one of the talks, please contact the organizers.

Fall 2017 topic: Iwasawa theory.

Prerequisites: References to be followed: Surveys (these contain a broad overview of Iwasawa theory, but without details): Books (each of these contains the Euler system proof of the cyclotomic main conjecture, among other things): Other references: More about Iwasawa theory can be found on Ralph Greenberg's website. An even longer list of references is available here.

September 8: Atticus Christensen. Class groups of cyclotomic fields (Serre, pages 83-86, then start Section 6)
September 15: David Corwin. Class groups of cyclotomic fields, continued (rest of Serre)
September 22: Alex Smith. Local units (Coates and Sujatha, Cyclotomic fields and zeta values, Chapter 2, but we will omit some details of the proofs)
September 29: Borys Kadets. Iwasawa algebras and p-adic measures (Coates and Sujatha, Cyclotomic fields and zeta values, Chapter 3)
October 6: NO SEMINAR (MIT retreat)
October 13: NO SEMINAR (AGNES at Northeastern)
October 20: Nicholas Triantafillou. Cyclotomic Units and Iwasawa's Theorem (Coates and Sujatha, Cyclotomic fields and zeta values, Chapter 4)
October 27:
November 3:
November 10: NO SEMINAR (Veterans Day)
November 17:
November 24: NO SEMINAR (Thanksgiving Vacation)
December 1:
December 8:
December 15:

Past semesters: Fall 2009, Spring 2010, Fall 2010, Spring 2011, Fall 2011, Spring 2012, Fall 2012, Spring 2013, Fall 2013, Spring 2014, Fall 2014, Spring 2015, Fall 2015, Spring 2016, Fall 2016, Spring 2017. For semesters up to and including Spring 2009, see the old STAGE webpage.

Organizers: Vishal Arul, Bjorn Poonen