Female mathematicians awarded at JMM 2023

Subhed: Collecting prizes at the annual Joint Mathematics Meetings included instructor Jia Shi, seniors Anqi Li and Ilani Axelrod-Freed, and alums Letong Carina Hong ’22 and Nataša Šešum PhD ’04.

Several members of the Department of Mathematics community were recognized for their achievements at the recent Joint Mathematics Meetings in Boston.

CLE Moore instructor Jia Shi received the Association for Women in Mathematics’ Dissertation Prize for her thesis that “proves major results on two separate topics in fluid mechanics, a hard classical field.”  

The association also awarded its Alice T. Schafer Prize for excellence in mathematics by an undergraduate woman to two MIT seniors: Anqi Li, as runner-up, and Ilani Axelrod-Freed, with an honorable mention.  

Letong Carina Hong ’22, currently at Oxford University as a Rhodes Scholar for China, received the 2023 AMS-MAA-SIAM Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student, for proving a number of results and solving conjectures in combinatorics, number theory, and probability.

The Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics went to Rutgers Associate Professor Nataša Šešum PhD ’04 (and Panagiota Daskalopoulos of Columbia) “for groundbreaking work in the study of ancient solutions to geometric evolution equations.”