Carina Hong and Alexandra Hoey Receive 2022 Alice T. Schafer Honors

Letong “Carina” Hong
Alexandra Hoey

The Association for Women in Mathematics announced that Letong “Carina” Hong, a math and physics double major, won the 2022 Alice T. Schafer Mathematics Prize for excellence in mathematics by an undergraduate woman. In addition, Mathematics major Alexandra Hoey was awarded honorable mention.

Alexandra participated in the MIT Summer Program in Undergraduate Research and spent two summers at the University of Virginia REU, focusing on arithmetic statistics. Her work has led to two papers – one of which will appear in Transactions of the American Mathematical Society. She has also served as a Menezes Challenge PRIMES Circle mentor.

Carina participated in REUs at the University of Minnesota-Duluth and the University of Virginia that led to a number of papers, including three accepted for publication. She also participated in the Budapest Semesters in Mathematics and the IAS Women and Mathematics program. Carina was recently selected for a Rhodes Scholarship. Carina also serves as President of MIT’s Undergraduate Mathematics Association (UMA).

The Schafer Prize Winners will be presented at the upcoming Joint Mathematics Meetings.

Congratulations Carina and Alexandra!

Past winners:

  • 2022 Letong “Carina” Hong (winner), Alexandra Hoey (honorable mention)
  • 2021 Korina Digalaki and Vanshika Jain (honorable mentions)
  • 2020 Marisa Gaetz (honorable mention)
  • 2019 Danielle Wang (runner-up) and Lisa Yang (honorable mention)
  • 2015 Sheela Devadas (winner)
  • 2014 Jessie Zhang (honorable mention)
  • 2013 Yangzhou Hu (honorable mention)
  • 2012 Fan Wei (winner)
  • 2011 Yinghui Wang and Fan Wei (honorable mentions)
  • 2010 Charmaine Sia (co-winner)
  • 2009 Maria Monks (winner) and Doris Dobi (honorable mention)
  • 2008 Galyna Dobrovolska (co-winner)
  • 2007 Yaim Cooper (runner-up)
  • 2004 Karola Mészáros (runner-up)
  • 1995 Ruth Britto-Pacumio (winner)