Claire Lazar Reich ’17 named 2021 Knight-Hennessy Scholar

Economics and statistics doctoral student Claire Lazar Reich ’17 hails from northern New Jersey. She graduated MIT with a bachelor of science in mathematics and will receive her PhD this year. Lazar Reich will complete her JD studies at Stanford Law School. She plans to use her legal education to contribute to financial regulation and […]

Anjali Nambrath awarded 2021 Fulbright Fellowship

Anjali Nambrath is among 12 MIT student affiliates who have won fellowships for the Fulbright 2021-22 grant year. Anjali is a senior double majoring in physics and mathematics. She has worked on projects related to nuclear structure, neutrino physics, and dark matter detection at MIT and at two national labs. At MIT, she was president […]

Lily Zhang named 2021-22 Goldwater Scholar

Lily Zhang is among four MIT undergraduates whose research areas explore artificial intelligence, space, and climate change honored for their academic achievements. Zhang is a junior double-majoring in Earth, atmospheric, and planetary sciences as well as physics, with minors in public policy and math. Zhang has a passion for climate science, something she’s known since […]

Carolina Ortega Savors Every Opportunity

From THE MIT CAMPAIGNFOR A BETTER WORLD At 13, Carolina Ortega ’21 was one of only three girls participating in her native Colombia’s Mathematics Olympiad. She admired the other two, both high school seniors heading to the International Mathematical Olympiad, and when she heard the following year that both were studying in Massachusetts, “that’s when I […]

Students Recognized by 2021 MIT Awards Convocation

Marisa Gaetz ’G received the Priscilla King Gray Award for Public Service, which recognizes exceptional dedication to community engagement and making positive social and environmental changes at MIT and beyond. Letong “Carina” Hong ’23 received the Emerging Leader Award in recognition of significant contributions to the community and demonstrated potential for leadership and continuing service. Anjali Nambrath ’21 received the […]

Students Awarded for Community Building

Undergraduates Talia Blum, Katie Gravel, and Letong “Carina” Hong received Community Building Awards “for individuals who have made significant contributions to building and strengthening our MIT Mathematics community.” Honorable mention goes to Andrea Arias, Brin Harper, Rachana Madhukara, Ana Reyes Sanchez, Boya Song, and Rona Wang. Congratulations!