Course info for 18.725 (Algebraic Geometry I) is available here.

We will be following Ravi Vakil's notes Foundations of Algebraic Geometry.

My current office hours: MW 3:30-4:30pm in 2-275. I will have no office hours on Wednesday, December 5. Instead, I will have office hours from 4-5pm on Friday, December 7.

Important note (Dec 4): There will be no class on Thursday, December 6. I recommend reading section 12.4 (Bertini's theorem and dual varieties) instead, since it is relevant for a couple of the problems on pset 10. The final class will be on Tuesday, December 11.


Problem sets will be posted here on most Thursdays (sometime between 1 pm and 4 pm) and will usually be due the following Thursday, in lecture or via e-mail (e-mail addresses are in the course info link above - please send to Kai and cc me, and have the subject line be "18.725 - Problem Set N").

Problem Set 1 (due Tuesday, September 25)

Problem Set 2 (due Thursday, October 4)

Problem Set 3 (due Thursday, October 18)

Problem Set 4 (due Thursday, October 25)

Problem Set 5 (due Thursday, November 1)

Problem Set 6 (due Thursday, November 8)

Problem Set 7 (due Thursday, November 15)

Problem Set 8 (due Tuesday, November 27)

Problem Set 9 (due Tuesday, December 4)

Problem Set 10 (due Tuesday, December 11)