Gilbert Strang was an undergraduate at MIT and a Rhodes Scholar at Balliol College, Oxford. His Ph.D. was from UCLA and since then he has taught at MIT. He has been a Sloan Fellow and a Fairchild Scholar and is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is a Professor of Mathematics at MIT, an Honorary Fellow of Balliol College, and a member of the National Academy of Sciences.

Professor Strang has published thirteen books :

He was the President of SIAM during 1999 and 2000, and Chair of the Joint Policy Board for Mathematics.
He received the von Neumann Medal of the US Association for Computational Mechanics, and the Henrici Prize for applied analysis.
The first Su Buchin Prize from the International Congress of Industrial and Applied Mathematics, and the Haimo Prize from the Mathematical Association of America, were awarded for his contributions to teaching around the world.
In 2020 MIT awarded Gilbert Strang the Irwin Sizer Prize for the Most Significant Improvement to MIT Education.

Gilbert Strang's home page is and his video lectures on linear algebra and learning from data and computational science and engineering are on (mathematics/18.06, 18.065 and 18.085) and Youtube.

Gilbert Strang
Department of Mathematics
MIT Cambridge MA 02139
617 253 4383 fax: 617 253 4358 ,

Return to Professor Strang's Homepage

Spanish version on