home > about > awards


Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship

Annually awarded two year fellowships that "provide support and recognition to early-career scientists and scholars."

  • 2007 Katrin Wehrheim
  • 2000 Gigliola Staffilani

Alice T. Schafer Mathematics Prize, AWM

"This award, established in 1990, is given for excellence in mathematics by an undergraduate woman in mathematics, by the Association for Women in Mathematics."

  • 2015 Sheela Devadas (winner)
  • 2014 Jessie Zhang (honorable mention)
  • 2013 Yangzhou Hu (honorable mention)
  • 2012 Fan Wei (winner)
  • 2011 Yinghui Wang and Fan Wei (honorable mentions)
  • 2010 Charmaine Sia (co-winner)
  • 2009 Maria Monks (winner) and Doris Dobi (honorable mention)
  • 2008 Galyna Dobrovolska (co-winner)
  • 2007 Yaim Cooper (runner-up)
  • 2004 Karola Mészáros (runner-up)
  • 1995 Ruth Britto-Pacumio (winner)

American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellowship

  • 2014 Gigliola Staffilani
  • 2012 Bonnie Berger

American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) Fellowship

  • 2016 Bonnie Berger

AMITA Senior Academic Award, MIT

This award is presented annually by the Association of MIT Alumnai (AMITA to one or more senior woman students who demonstrate the highest level of academic excellence and professional promise through course work and academic endeavors at MIT.

  • 2011 Melissa Gymrek
  • 2010 Charmaine Sia
  • 2007 Yaim Cooper
  • 2005 Karola Meszaros

Association for Computer Machinery, Fellow

"The ACM Fellows Program was established by Council in 1993 to recognize and honor outstanding ACM members for their achievements in computer science and information technology and for their significant contributions to the mission of the ACM."

  • 2004 Bonnie Berger

AWM-Joan & Joseph Birman Research Prize in Topology and Geometry

  • 2016 Emmy Murphy

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

"The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater. The purpose of the Foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields."

  • 2009 Maria Monks

Charles W. and Jennifer C. Johnson Prize, MIT

This prize is awarded to a current MIT graduate student in the Department of Mathematics for a research paper accepted for publication in a major journal.

  • 2008 Ting Xue
  • 2007 Silvia Montarani
  • 2006 Fu Liu
  • 2004 Lauren Willaims

Charles and Holly Housman Award for Excellence in Teaching, MIT

This award is presented to graduate student(s) in Mathematics for skill and dedication in undergraduate teaching.

  • 2013 Ailsa Keating
  • 2011 Linan Chen
  • 2009 Angelica Osorno
  • 2007 Teena Gerhardt
  • 2006 Alice Chan, Christina Goddard
  • 2005 Bianca Santoro

Clay Mathematics Institute Liftoff Fellowship

"Liftoff was designed to support recent PhDs for one month in the summer following their graduation through a generous salary plus funds for travel to research conferences or collaboration."

  • 2008 Marketa Havlícková
  • 2006 Fu Liu

Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prize, MAA

Established in 1992 by the MAA, the Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prizes is awarded periodically to a woman whose performance on the Competition has been deemed particularly meritorious.

  • 2010 Yinghui Wang
  • 1995 Ruth Britto-Pacumio

Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award, NSF

  • 2009 Katrin Wehrheim
  • 1995 Bonnie Berger

Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize, AMS/MAA/SIAM

"The Frank and Brennie Morgan prize, established jointly in 1995 by the AMS, MAA & SIAM, is awarded to an undergraduate student (or students having submitted joint work) for outstanding research in mathematics."

  • 2013 Fan Wei
  • 2011 Maria Monks
  • 2010 Maria Monks (honorable mention)

Jon A. Bucsela Prize, MIT

The Jon A. Bucsela Prize in Mathematics is given in recognition of distinguished scholastic achievement, professional promise and enthusiasm for mathematics.

  • 2012 Fan Wei
  • 2008 Galyna Dobrovolska
  • 2005 Karola Meszaros

The Loeve Prize

The Loeve Prize, formally The Line and Michel Loeve International Prize in Probability is awarded every two years. It is intended to recognize outstanding contributions by researchers in probability who are under 45 years old.

  • 2009 Alice Guionnet

Margaret MacVicar Faculty Fellow, MIT

Beginning in 1992, the MacVicar Fellowship recognizes MIT faculty who have made exemplary and sustained contributions to the teaching and education of undergraduates at MIT. Each spring, the Fellows sponsor MacVicar Day - MIT's annual recognition of undergraduate education.

  • 2010 Anette Hosoi

Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award, Biophysical Society

"The Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award is given to a woman who holds very high promise or has achieved prominence while developing the early stages of a career in biophysical research within the purview and interest of the Biophysical Society."

  • 1997 Bonnie Berger

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientist and Engineers (PECASE)

PECASE is the highest distinction awarded by the government of the United States to scientists and engineers beginning their careers.

  • 2010 Katrin Wehrheim

Radcliffe Institute Fellowship, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard

The Radcliffe Institute Fellowship Program annually selects and supports 50 leading artists and scholars who have both exceptional promise and demonstrated accomplishments.

  • 2009 Gigliola Staffilani

The Silver Medal of CNRS

The CNRS Silver Medal honors researchers who are only at the beginning of their rise to fame, but who are already recognized nationally and internationally for the originality, quality, and importance of their work. (CNRS - Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique)

  • 2010 Alice Guionnet

Simons Foundation, Investigator

  • 2012 Alice Guionnet

Top 100 Innovators under 35, Technology Review

  • 1999 Bonnie Berger